Turkey Trot

Register Today!

Since 1963, on Thanksgiving morning, the Mt. Prospect Jaycees have hosted this annual Turkey Trot for families in the Mount Prospect community. This year will mark the 54th year that we have hosted this event. Join us for an event to be remembered.

The Turkey Trot run is the oldest continually running event in the Chicagoland area.  We will be running and walking at Melas Park this year.  There will be a warming tent for registration.  Please bring a small chair if you need to sit while waiting.

We have a brand new format this year too!  We are featuring a 1 mile, and a 5K option. The 1 mile starts at 8am. The 5K starts at 8:30am. You can register for both.

Register on active.com


Day-of registration IS available at Melas Park 

When: Thanksgiving morning, Thursday, November 23, 2017
Where: Melas Park, 1500 Central Rd,  Mt. Prospect IL
Time: First race begins at 8:00 AM ( 7:00 AM Check-in )
5K  Pre-Register: $25 for Adults (15+) and $15 for ages 14 and under
5K Walk-up/Race Day: $30 for Adults (15+) and $20 for ages 14 and under
1 Mile Pre-Register: $15 for all Ages. Walk-up/Race Day:  $20


  • T-shirts will be provided to the first 300 registered entrants. After that, all shirts are first come, first serve.
  • Proceeds from the race are donated back to the community through the Mt. Prospect Jaycees.Past recipients include: Mt. Prospect Senior Center, CEDA, Women in Need Growing Stronger(WINGS), Scholarships for High School; Local Animal Shelters.

Dogs and strollers are WELCOME! 
Race participants with dogs (on leash) and strollers are welcome to participate in both the 1 mile and 5K.


Awards will immediately follow after the 5K Run/Walk is completed.

Awards will be presented to the overall male and overall female of the 5K and the top 3 male and female finishers for each division in the 5K.

Age Groups 
8 and under, 9-14,15-20, 21-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60 and up

Race Start Times

1 mile 8:00 am
5K (3.1 miles) 8:30 am, after the timer is completed with the 1 mile results.

For additional information about the Jaycees or the Turkey Trot, call our hotline at: 224-764-0691 or contact email us at trot@mpjaycees.org


You can see the results on line at Race Time’s website,